Posted by: Kayle | January 5, 2012

Hello 2012

To say a lot has happened since I last posted would be a huge understatement. It’s been almost a year and a half! I won’t waste anyone’s time with the details of my ups and downs since then.  You’d spend perhaps 10 minutes (generously) on it and get bored. However, since I can’t very well let you assume I’m in the same place we left off, here’s a summary of the main events. I got engaged, finished my masters, found a job, moved, got married, moved, started my job, bought a house, and moved again.  My health has taken a pretty hard hit with all that turmoil and stress.  In 2011 I had 3  PICCs and an average of about 65% lung function. I haven’t done a single race since the TWU Tri in 2010. Buh. 😦

So, that leaves us here, at square número uno.  It’s January 2012 and I’m ready to rally.  What exactly does that mean you ask? I’m not exactly sure, but I have some really good prospects.

The first one is a program that I was fortunate enough to find on Cystic Life.  The best way I can explain Cystic Life, is that it’s like Facebook for people who have CF in their lives. There are “CFers” (forgive the term), nurses, family members, significant others, and doctors on the site; all of them supporting one another. It’s wonderful. Anyway, one day while I was browsing the site I came across an advertisement for a program called CFit. Basically, the program provides free-that’s right FREE- personal training to a selection of “Cysters” (girls with CF) and “Fibros” (guys with CF) who apply.  What makes this program truly unique is that your “team” consists of at least one member who actually has CF! This is a person who knows exactly what you’re going through physically, emotionally etc. The rest of the team are health professionals (trainers, respiratory people, nutritionists) that have a good knowledge base concerning CF.  The program is supposed to last 3 months (I think) and will consist of phone calls, skype, and email. It should start in a couple of weeks. I’m beyond excited!

The other prospect I’m considering is a beginner’s running program through a local running shop. It’s supposed to get you ready for a 5k in 9 weeks. Experience-wise I’m not a beginning runner, but I think it could be a really good starting point in terms of fitness. Growing up, I always worked out with a group. Whether it was a soccer team, cross country team, or the triathlon class at summer camp, I’ve always done better with people. Call me competitive, but having other people around makes me work harder.  It costs $60 and the information meeting is tonight. In order to make it work, I have to convince my boss to let me leave work for an hour or so on Saturdays, and get the OK from my CFit trainer.  I hope there are still spots left!

Ok, here’s the fun part: goals. I know several people who can just work out to stay fit and never make goals. I don’t get them. I can’t help it! I make goals in my sleep! My mother would tell you this all stems from a conversation about goal making she had with me in the bathtub when I was 4…but that’s another story entirely.  So, here are some goals for 2012.

1) Stay healthy

2) Run the entire 1 mile “Fun Run” at the BALTO 5k (it benefits the CF Foundation!)

3) For each month of the year, be able to run that many miles nonstop. (Jan-1 Feb-2 etc)

4) Complete at least one sprint triathlon

Now, these goals may change, they may not. I’m not sure, for example, how long I’ll be able to keep up the one mile per month thing. That would have me 1 mile short of a half marathon by December!  Since I have a history of jinxing myself (I tend to get sick literally the day after making lofty goals), I’m going to limit my race agenda to a month-to-month basis.  But, if you do the math, my goals would have me running a 5k in March (3-3) so I haven’t completely given up hope for myself. I’m just trying to be a semi-realistic optimist. 🙂

That’s all I’ve got for you right now.  I’ll update after I know about the running program.

Make it a good one!

Leave a Reply

Categories

