Posted by: Kayle | March 6, 2010

Race Report!: Cowtown 5k

I know I’ve been MIA recently.  School had been really busy…so busy even a brilliant procrastinator such as myself has had to do work ahead of time.  *Sigh*

Anyhoo… training has been going well, if a bit sporadically.  I was pretty confident in the days leading up to the Cowtown 5k that I’d be able to run the distance comfortably.  Tim was supposed to run the half marathon, but he hurt his leg a few weeks beforehand and decided to run the 5k with me.

We took it at a comfortable pace (read: slow) and ran the whole thing together. It felt good, and it was fun to finally get to run with Tim. We couldn’t help ourselves and sprinted at the end. There was a fairly narrow gap between the people and I got through it first. Here is a pic that sums it up: 

Please note that I’m laughing. I think my mother would call it my devious laugh.  Tim’s been calling me a “dirty cheat” all week because I got through the opening before he did, but in the end we had identical times. All in good fun, all in good fun. He’s also informed me that he won’t be running slow with me next time. 🙂 Gotta love competitive relationships.  All in all, I think the day was a huge success.

In other news, I tried to run today without having done my nebs. It was a big, fat, FAIL.  Ok, not completely. I was able to run 1.5 miles at a 10:30-10:45 min/mile pace which is about 30 secs faster than I normally do…but I could NOT get my breathing under control. It was sporadic and frantic the whole time. I ended up only going 2 miles. I just could not get it together.  I called my mom pretty upset afterwards and she told me 2 things: 1) at least we know the medicine works (not too encouraging but true nonetheless) and 2) “you’re still pretty soon post hospital” — again, true but I have an aversion to using excuses…especially cf ones.  So, I’ll be doing my nebs tomorrow morning and giving 4 miles another go.   Until then…

Carpe diem!

Responses

  1. Congrats


Leave a Reply

Categories

