Posted by: Kayle | February 6, 2010

First Swim of the Season

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, but to be honest my life has been absolutely crazy as of late. I did, however, manage to get my first swim (and brick) workout in of the season.

I woke up early like I always do and hopped on the bike trainer. I went 30 mins and then went to the pool. Due to my less than stellar swimming skills,  I decided the best thing to do was to see how far I could swim comfortably without having to rest. After I got out of the hospital last summer for example, I could barely swim a 25m length so I wasn’t expecting much.  Well…life is full of surprises, and sometimes, they’re even pleasant ones!  I was able to swim 100m without pushing myself too hard.  That’s 4x better than I was after my hospital stint last summer when my lung function was in the 90s!  YAY!  😀 I ended up doing 3 x 100m. Again, I probably could’ve done more, but I had to go to class. Also, since it was my first brick workout, I didn’t want to kill myself completely.

On the health side of things, learning to balance school (and all the craziness that goes with it) and training has been somewhat interesting. On the day that I did the double workout, I neglected to reduce the amount of insulin I gave myself for breakfast afterward (I gave myself the amount I do after 1 exercise activity). Consequently my blood sugars dropped to 34 (they should be 80-120).  OOPS! Luckily I had some skittles on me so it wasn’t too big of a catastrophe.   Another issue I’m dealing with is exhaustion. In lamens terms, I’m freaking tired! All the time! Part of me doesn’t really get it.  I mean, I’m eating a ton of good food, I’m taking my vitamins, doing my meds, and my weight is steady. I called my mom about it (ie my at home doc) and she thinks I should add a multivitamin to the cf vitamins I already take. *Sigh* Fine.  It’s only one more pill to add to the handful I take every morning. :/   I’ve also started a TOBI cycle. That’s normal though. It’s time, and I can feel that I need it.

So this week should be a bit less hectic than last week (even though I’ve got 2 tests) and hopefully the multivitamin will help with the energy issue. I’m looking to get up to running 3 miles this week since my 5k is Feb. 27th.  I also want to get in the pool a couple more times and up my trainer time. We’ll have to see though. I’d much rather have to train slow than train too hard and make myself sick again. If the energy issue doesn’t get resolved this week I’m thinking of finding a nutritionist or a trainer that might be able to give me some pointers.  Bye bye money!  Any thoughts from anyone out there on the issue?

That’s all for now!

Carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

Categories

