Posted by: Kayle | January 17, 2010

I’m a Runner!

Today is a great day.  Today I reentered the world of running.

Let me back up a bit. Yesterday, my friend Melissa and I went shopping for new running shoes.  When we got there, we found out the store was having a sale. I’ll be honest, I don’t normally like shopping, but I went on a small spree.  I got new asics fitted to stabilize my stride (I pronate apparently), a couple pairs of running shorts, workout capris, socks, and some hammer gels.  I spent most of my Christmas money, but I maintain it will be worth it. 🙂

I woke up this morning, did my nebs, and set off on my run. I have an application on my iphone called runkeeper that uses gps and audio cues to let you know how you’re doing. So, I took off and ran until the nice lady in my ear told me I had run .41 miles, ran a bit farther and turned around to go home.  I ended up running 1.24 miles. Not far, but farther than I expected to go and I felt great!

Tomorrow, I’m supposed to bike and swim.  I doubt I’ll be able to swim very far.  At any rate, I can’t find my suit so I’ll probably go get a new one sometime today (the other one was old anyways).

I’m still working on my race schedule.  In my heart I want to be ambitious with my goals, but to be honest I’m a little scared. When I figure it out, I’ll post it. That’s it for now!

Carpe diem!

Responses

  1. Nothing like some new gear to help with motivation


Leave a Reply

Categories

